Quantum Nanostructures and
Nanofabrication Group

Prof. Karl K. Berggren and Dr. P. Donald Keathley

Emily Toomey awarded 2017 Ernst A. Guillemin Thesis Award for best EE Master’s Thesis

Congratulations to Emily Toomey for being awarded the 2017¬†Ernst A. Guillemin Thesis Award for best electrical engineering Master’s Thesis in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. Emily’s thesis, titled “Microwave response of nonlinear oscillations in resistively shunted superconducting nanowires” describes her work on studying the control of thermal behavior in superconducting nanowires through resistive shunting. In particular, it investigates how the resulting high-frequency relaxation oscillations interact with an external drive to produce behavior conventionally associated with Josephson junctions.

More information about this award may be found here.